Ralph Hotere 1931-2013

HOTERE

Come Rain Hail (2)

COME RAIN HAIL Hone Tuwhare
1st edition 1970, published by the Bibliography Room, University of Otago Library, Dunedin.

When you offer only three
vertical lines precisely drawn
and set into a dark pool of lacquer
it is a visual kind of starvation:

and even though my eye-balls
roll up and over to peer inside
myself, when I reach the beginning
of your eternity I say instead: hell
let’s have another feed of mussels

Like, I have to think about it, man

When you stack horizontal lines
into vertical columns which appear
to advance, recede, shimmer and wave
like exploding packs of cards
I merely grunt and say: well, if it
Is not a famine, it’s a feast

I have to roll another smoke, man

But when you score a superb orange
circle on a purple thought-base
I shake my head and say: hell what
is this thing, called love

Like, I’m euchered man. I’m eclipsed

Hone Tuwhare (1970)

Leave a Reply

